Ten Indianapolis educators have a shot at $25,000 reward for their work in the classroom and in their students’ lives.

The 10 finalists for the Hubbard Life-Changing Educator Award were chosen from 584 nominated teachers and principals from Indianapolis Public Schools.

Three teachers and one principal will be named as winners at a ceremony May 31. The winners will receive $25,000 and the other finalists will receive $1,000 each.

The award was created four years ago by Indianapolis philanthropists Kathy and Al Hubbard after they read a newspaper account of a local teacher who helped turn her student’s life around. (Al Hubbard, who has helped shape Indiana education policy, is the frontrunner to be Secretary Betsy DeVos’ right-hand man at the U.S. Department of Education.)

Here are the finalists for the teaching award:

  • Maggie Brown, SITE Program at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Michael Couch, School 14
  • Julie Herdman, School 19
  • Katherine Hinkle, Newcomer Program
  • Sheila Long, School 42
  • Genevieve McLeish-Petty, Northwest High School

Here are the finalists for the principal award:

  • Joyce Akridge, School 79
  • Jeremy Baugh, School 107
  • Christine Collier, School 70
  • Shane O’Day, Shortridge High School